Monday Afternoon

What brings you here? Jorge asks, eyes on the paper and etching out black-ink sketches, shapley, on a faint ghost of a floor plan. I don’t know, I just had it in me, you said, maybe it’s all the jeepneys I see everyday. I’m not sure what Mobil1 means, or Pennzoil too- but those were the words I drew on the newsprint, first thing when I get home. You’re clicking through the folders and waiting for them to load, the previews on the icons. I was about 7 when I saw a rendering of a building we had designed. It was in monochrome ink, black and white. Like the pictures you’re drawing now- you said to yourself in the head.

The principal architect comes in the room and the both of you shut up.

Leave a Reply

