Meet Me in Montauk

Leave just as you came,

Without a sound,

Nothing to ruffle your ends

I’ve been wandering around

Making up movies in my head

Oh, they said

Oh, You never let go

And we’ll try to squeeze out our pride

I already forget,

I already forget,

I already forget how I used to feel about you.

Leave just as you came,

No invitation,

Nowhere to go from here

I’ve been wandering around,

Wonderin’ how I got so,

got so –

got so –

got so,

got so,

so fucking boring all of a sudden

It’s not that I’m excited,

It’s been creeping in for years

So fucking scared of what you can think of us

So fucking scared to type correct

So fucking scared to hear what you think

So fucking terrified to be a failure

This is the only thing I’ve ever done right,

ever done right in my whole life

You’d mean so much more to me

You’d mean so much more,

If I could just remember.

If I could remember.

I might still be in love with you.

It’s the only thing I’ve left to do,

If I remember.

Maybe I could remember

Where we started.

 Anthony Green / April 13, 2010

Leave a Reply

