I Long For A Day

I long for a day that the boy inside me would stop throwing sticks and stones to anything that frightens him,

I long for a day that my search will end, If not, be satisfied with the soil I’ve carefully kept between my fingers

I long for a day that will tie all my questions together, and put them in a basket of faith, to throw into the ocean.

 

I long for a day, to find a soul who will want to curl beside me and laugh

at all the things I’ve said, at all the things I’ve thought of,

at all the paint I’ve wasted, at all the songs I’ve faked,

at all the hopeless endeavors I’d hope to bring home,

and rub my hair and say it’s okay.

 

I long for a day to be loved for more than anything than what the eyes see,

for more than the places I’ve been, more than the money I’ve kept in my empty pockets,

more than the souls I’ve stared my eyes into, more than the books and letters and words I’ll read

and will turn around and bring me a cup of reassurance.

 

I long for a day to come, I long for a day to come,

I long for another day to come,

Just a piece of sunlight all over my face

And I long for something more.

2 thoughts on “I Long For A Day

    • It is human nature to seek, it is human to be inept and be aware of incapacity and wanting to be more.

      And we are all scared to die an anonymous tombstone, so we live our days trying to be everything we want to be, or we pretend to be

Leave a Reply

